Thiensville Turkey Trot Recap

This race was a first for me, my first Thanksgiving Turkey Trot.  There are several turkey trots in the Milwaukee area.  This was a good size race, with about 1,000 participants and many families participating in the race.

I registered in advance and paid extra for a long sleeve shirt (registration included a short sleeve shirt).  Thiensville is about a 50 minute drive for me, so I picked up my packet on race morning.  I arrived early and had no problem parking in the lot at the village park near the finish line.  However, there was a problem with the long sleeve shirt order and they did not have any in my size.  They offered me a short sleeve shirt and a beanie hat instead, which was fine with me.  The shirt is a cotton shirt.

The start line is around the corner from the finish and the race is not chip timed.  There was a sign for walkers to line up at the back.  The beginning of the race was a bit chaotic, with kids and runners with strollers lined up near the front.  I just waited for the race to thin out before speeding up.  The course was fairly flat and is on closed streets in a suburban neighborhood.

I didn’t have any real time goal for this race, I did want to run fairly even splits.  I have been following a McMillan “stamina module” so I had completed some tempo runs in the previous weeks.   My last 5K was in May, where I finished in 25:37, with very ugly positive splits.

I ran hard but honestly didn’t feel a great sense of urgency or desire to push myself to the point of pain.  My finish time was 25:12, which was 6th in the 40-49 age group (10 year age groups).  But my splits were good, 8:01, 8:15, 8:01.

My friend finished 3rd in her age group and was told she would receive an award.  There were no finisher medals for the race.  We waited for the awards ceremony and she was given a packaged pumpkin roll cake.  There did appear to be medals for the 1st and 2nd place age group finishers.

This ranks as my 2nd fastest 5K, though my PR is a “fake” one, it is 24:53 on a very short course.  So I am treating this race as my official PR.  But now I’m wondering what I can do if I push myself.  So another 5K is forthcoming.

Overall, this was a fun race.  The volunteers are nice and it is for a good cause.  It was a nice start to the Thanksgiving festivities.

Leave a Reply

